My List of Korean Drama – what I recommended

I never recall why I end up watching a Korean drama for the first time (everyone always ask me this when they first hear about it), but it has been a while and I’m now hocked on them, why? I don’t really know how explain that very well. Korean dramas are actually a bit cheesy and lame sometimes, but I end up watching them. Maybe it is because they have different concepts and culture, so I got curious and now “addicted”.

So here I a list of some of my favorite Korean dramas:

It’s Okay, It’s Love 

its ok that love

Main Cast:

Jo In Sung as Jang Jae Yul

Gong Hyo Jin as Ji Hae Soo

Sung Dong Il as Jo Dong Min

Lee Kwang Soo as Park Soo Kwang

My Review: I just love the story! It’s a crazy-funny ride. If you’re up for some kind of psychiatric-medical-romance, this one is for you. It’s a sweet story that has real and down to earth dialog. There’ll be scenes that will have you laughing one moment only to cry the next – a good deal of heart. Surely a must watch. Score 10/10.

Marriage Not Dating 

marriage not dating

Main Cast:

Han Groo as Joo Jang Mi

Yun Woo Jin as Gong Ki Tae

Jung Jin Woon as Han Yeo Reum

Han Sun Hwa as Kang Se Ah

My Review:  The chemistry between the leads, the hilarious scenes, the awesome script, the acting, the facial expressions, and the kissing scenes – everything was just too perfect, realistic and so convincing. It’s really nothing extra ordinary; it is a romantic comedy, but definitely fresh and hilarious . I’d give this drama a perfect 10/10

The Greatest Love 

250px-The_Greatest_Love_Promotional_Poster_(640x512)

Main cast: 
Gong Hyo Jin as Goo Ae Jung
Cha Seung Won as Dokko Jin
Yoo In Na as Kang Se Ri
Yoon Kye Sang as Yoon Pil Joo

My Review: It’s just fun! It takes a little while to hit its groove — it’s amusing at first, but I didn’t find it immediately addicting. But when the pace finally kicks in, you just get hocked on it. You’d surely have so much fun if you’ll watch this. Score: 9/10

I Can Hear Your Voice

i hear your voice

Main Cast:

Lee Bo Young as Jang Hye Sung

Lee Jong Suk as Park Soo Ha

Yoon Sang Hyun as Cha Kwan Woo

My Review: This drama is one of the best dramas I’ve ever watched. Yes, there are some flaws, but it so addicting. I love all the cast. All of them, including the killer- -stalker bad character. Definitely a must watch! Score 10/10.

Oh My Ghost 

Oh-My-Ghost-Poster-BestKoreanDrama.jpg

Main Cast:

Park Bo Young as Na Bong Sun

Jo Jung Suk as Kang Sun Woo

Im Joo Hwan as Choi Sung Jae

Kim Seul Gi as Shin Soon Ae

Park Jung Ah as Lee So Hyung

My Review: I actually started seeing this show, just because I was bored, but then…Oh it’s a must watch. This drama is almost perfect, well it sure had its share of missteps along the way, but I really don’t care. Oh My Ghost made me laugh, weep, and the story line really warmed my heart. The actors and actresses portrayed their parts really well, not to mention they all have great chemistry. Score 10/10

Healer 

Healer.jpg
Main Cast:
Ji Chang-wook as Seo Jung-hoo/Park Bong-soo/Healer

Park Min-young as Chae Young-shin/Oh Ji-an

Yoo Ji-tae as Kim Moon-ho

My Review:  To all of us K-Drama addicts, we know it’s rare enough to find a drama that is consistently good from the first episode until its finale. Healer has everything, a great story line, very well written scripts, characters were all good (nobody was wasted), and of course, a very satisfying finale. Score: 10/10

Pinnochio 

Pinocchio-Poster.jpg

Main Cast:

Lee Jong Suk as Choi Dal Po / Ki Ha Myung

Park Shin Hye as Choi In Ha

Kim Young Kwang as Seo Bum Jo

Lee Yoo Bi as Yoon Yoo Rae

My Review: There were flaws in the story but who cares, its Lee Jong Seok’s drama! I really like this actor, he’s very talented and its eye expression, just spot on. I love this drama, not just because I love the leads but also the story is heartwarming. I appreciate how it shows and centers the importance of Family. This drama carried a meaningful message while giving us lots of entertaining and cute moments. Definitely a must watch.  Score 10/10

 

A Girl Who Sees Smells 

The-Girl-Who-Sees-Smell.jpg

Main Cast:

Park Yoo Chun as Choi Moo Gak

Shin Se Kyung as Choi Eun Sul / Oh Cho Rim

Nam Goong Min as Kwon Jae Hee

Yoon Jin Seo as Yum Mi

My Review: This is a cute and interesting drama. Score 7/10

 

Producer

The-Producer-Korean-Drama-1.jpg

Main Cast:

Cha Tae Hyun as Ra Joon Mo

Kim Soo Hyun as Baek Seung Chan

Gong Hyo Jin as Tak Ye Jin

IU as Cindy

My Review: This isn’t a typical Korean Drama and at first I wasn’t really appreciating it, but the story end up being engaging and entertaining… you’d laugh, you’d cry. Not to mention the main leads are high caliber actors and actresses in the industry…their acting is flawless.  Score 9/10

 

Kill Me, Heal Me  Main Cast:

killheal_30.jpg

Ji Sung as Cha Do Hyun / Shin Se Gi / Perry Park / Ahn Yo Sub / Ahn Yo Na / Nana / Mysterious X

Hwang Jung Eum as Oh Ri Jin

Park Seo Joon as Oh Ri Ohn

Oh Min Suk as Cha Ki Joon

Kim Yoo Ri as Han Chae Yun

My Review:  This is a very interesting drama although I had to watch some episodes before getting convinced about it. It’s a good kind of weird story line, very creative, full of heart and the characters are very well executed. Ji Sung truly took me on a roller coaster of emotions. I loved all the characters (personalities) he portrayed, I laughed and cried my eyes out because of them. This drama is great, and the finale was sweet and heartwarming. Score 10/10

Other Recommendations:

  • Athena: Goddess of War (spy, action, romance)
  • Master’s Sun (just funny, love the actress)
  • Doctor Stranger (great story)
  • City Hunter (action, romance, story line)
  • Remember you/Hello Monster (I get the same vibe from The Mentalist)
  • My Love From the Star (not my favorite, but it’s one of the most popular korean dramas)
  • Silly romantic: Emergency couple, The Heirs aka The Inheritors (Gossip Girl style), Boys Before Flowers, Princess Hours/Goong, Personal taste, etc

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

